Long hours on beach rewarded for Kiama lifesavers

KIAMA Surf Life Saving Club hosted its annual presentation day recently to celebrate the success of the 2013-14 season.

Members patrolled more than 5000 hours on the beach and 64 members achieved their 100 per cent patrol proficiency.

The patrol of the year award went to Patrol 4 (captain Rhys Dawson).

The Lymbery Family Award for Cadet of the Year was shared by Erin Lark, Sharnie Heffernan and Lizzy Gorman.

The Parkinson Family Award for Junior of the Year was won by Ben Jackson and Jamee Burazin.

The Dobson Family Trophy for Team of the Year was taken out by the under-17 beach relay team of Jake Heffernan, Sharnie Heffernan, Tomas Dean and Liam Flanagan.

The Neil (Brother Brown) Memorial Trophy for Competitor of the Year was won by Kate Lewis who had success at many carnivals.

The Parkes Family Award for Outstanding Work behind the Scenes was won by Wendy Sala. Wendy has worked tirelessly this season on fund-raising for the Kingfishers.

The Brian Jones Memorial Trophy for Life Saver of the Year was won by Reece Gregory. Reece is boat captain and patrol captain as well as completing 100 per cent patrol and training.

The Kim Taber Memorial Trophy for Most Outstanding Female Member was won by Hannah McInerney. Hannah had a busy season holding down two club positions - secretary and club captain, in addition to achieving 100 per cent patrol and training members.

The Les Pepper Memorial Award for Clubman of the Year was won by two members - Thomas Daly and Vince Hardman.

Tom is club treasurer and achieved 100 per cent patrol as well as being an active JRB member involved in patrols and call outs. Vince Hardman is a tireless worker for the club, putting in many hours in the radio room and around the club.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide