NSW Election: We answer the questions

Photo: FILE.
Photo: FILE.

So we know there's an election coming up and we know there's another election on the cards. But which is which and what are we actually voting for on March 23? 

These might seem like silly questions, but given the current political climate we think it's legit so we've put together this cheat sheet for you. 

To put it simply it's the NSW state election on March 23 - the Federal election will come later in the year. 

For the people of Nowra, depending on your street, you are voting for either the seat of Kiama or the seat of South Coast. Want to know which? If you can't work it out from the map below, put your address in here.

But what is Gilmore? 

Good question! That seems to be what everyone is talking about at the moment. In Nowra however (and Batemans Bay, Berry, Kiama and Ulladulla) Gilmore is the federal seat. You've seen it in the news lately as the preselected liberal candidate quit the party after Scott Morrison parachuted Warren Mundine into the seat.

So, for now, don't worry about Gilmore. Scott Morison is yet to call an election, so we can worry about that later. 

So here's what you need to think about when you're thinking about the state election

Photo: FILE.

Photo: FILE.


So let's talk state election

So now hopefully you've worked out what electorate you're in, what you need to think about and that we're voting for our state government. Now we'll go through both seats. 


Kiama is the seat for Albion Park to Yerriyong, Kangaroo Valley down to Shoalhaven Heads and everything in between. There are 55,410 people registered to vote in this electorate as of February 28. 

The seat is currently occupied by Gareth Ward from the Liberal Party. He has been the sitting member since 2011. At the last election Mr Ward won with 51.6 per cent of the vote. 

Between 1981 and 2011 the seat was occupied by the Australian Labor Party. 

On March 23 there will be five candidates to chose from, Nina Digiglio from the Greens, Andy Higgins from the Australian Labor Party, John Caldwell from the Christian Democratic Party, Anne Whatman from Sustainable Australia and Mr Ward from the Liberal Party.

Search what's going on in electorate by searching below.

South Coast 

The South Coast is the seat for Nowra, Milton, Ulladulla, Sussex Inlet and Jervis Bay. There are 56,851 registered voters in the electorate as of February 28.

The seat is currently occupied by Shelley Hancock of the Liberal Party. She has held the seat since 2003. Between 1999 and 2003 the seat was occupied by the Australian Labor Party and between 1995 and 1999 it was occupied by the Liberal Party. 

In the 2015 election Shelley Hancock won 52.5% of the votes. 

On March 23 there will be three candidates on the ballot; Annette Alldrick for Country Labor, Kim Stephenson for the Greens and Ms Hancock for the Liberal Party.