Shoalhaven's total fire ban for January 18

NSW RFS total fire ban map.
NSW RFS total fire ban map.

With the temperature forecast to top 37 degrees in the Shoalhaven region tomorrow (Friday, January 18) and a very high fire danger, the NSW Rural Fire Service has declared a total fire ban.

The bans cover the Illawarra/Shoalhaven including Kiama, Shellharbour, Shoalhaven, Wingecarribee, Wollondilly and Wollongong.

The fire ban comes into force from midnight tonight (Thursday, January 17).

With hot and windy conditions expected there is very high to severe fire danger across most of NSW and total fire bans are in place for 13 areas including the Greater Hunter, Greater Sydney Region, Illawarra/Shoalhaven, Monaro Alpine, Southern Ranges, Central Ranges, Northern Slopes, North Western, Lower Central West Plains, Southern Slopes, Eastern Riverina, Southern Riverina, and Northern Riverina regions.

No fires may be lit in the open and all fire permits are suspended during a total fire ban.

Gas and electric barbecues may be used provided certain conditions are met.

NSW RFS advises people under severe and very high fire conditions to have their homes well prepared that can be actively defended but also provide safety during a fire, follow your bushfire survival plan and remain vigilant.

Keep informed by listening to local radio, watching television news broadcasts and monitoring

This story Total fire ban declared for Shoalhaven first appeared on South Coast Register.