Bomaderry Tigers' Sophie Phillips wins inaugural Maddy Collier Medal

BOMADERRY’S amazing year in the first ever AFL South Coast Women’s competition has continued, after Sophie Phillips took out the inaugural Maddy Collier Medal – the league’s best and best award.

The 16-year-old ruckperson, who played a huge role in helping the Tigers claim the minor premiership, polled 33 votes, 10 more than her closest rival, across the 18 home and away rounds.

The annual awards night, held on Sunday at The Pavillion, Kiama, also saw a number of other Tigers claim prizes.

Men’s division two captain Jack Boxsell took out the Tom Smith Medal (division two best and fairest) as well as being named in the AFLSC men’s team of the year.

Joining him in the team of the year was Jordan Matthews, who also finished as the competition’s leading goal kicker, with 43 majors.

The other two best and fairest award winners were Wollongong Lions Lachlan Maples (division one men’s – Tunbridge Medal) and Ulladulla Dockers’ Tyler McCabe (division three men’s).

Joining Matthews in the leading goal kickers awards were Kiama’s Troy Cole (59 goals – division one men’s), Shellharbour’s Matt O’Rourke (23 goals – division three men’s) and Northern Districts’ Ashlee Smith (23 goals – women).

Boxsell and Matthews were joined in the men’s team of the year by Kiama’s Ben Hoctor, Nick Baggio, Josh Walton, Ben Rawson, Ben Williams, Lachlan Kirk, Troy Cole and Jack Mahony, Wollongong Lions’ Rohan Watson, David Goodley, Joshua Tier, Lachlan Maples, Jake Hogarth and Jack Burgess, Wollongong Bulldogs’ Keegan Jenkins and Samuel Schiller, Figtree’s Cameron Daly, Nicholas Stacey, Shellharbour’s Mitchell Bates and Northern Districts’ Thomas Strong – with Figtree’s Will Ryan as coach and Matt Clark the umpire.

Players weren’t the only people acknowledged on the night, with Nowra/Albatross Vikings’ Chrissy Lakey named AFLSC volunteer of the year, Bomaderry’s Craig ‘Jack’ Daniel named as a 2018 AFLSC life member and Ray Tunbridge (posthumous) being the 2018 AFLSC hall of fame inductee.

Finally, Joel Spain (Brian Archer development award) and Callum Faulkner (golden whistle) took out the two umpire awards for 2018.

This story Sophie Phillips wins inaugural Maddy Collier Medal | Photos first appeared on South Coast Register.