Brad Rossiter narrowly beaten in Zone decider

Kiama Bowling Clubs Major Singles champion Brad Rossiter was narrowly beaten in the Illawarra Zone Champion of Club Champion Singles final at Towradgi Bowling Club on the weekend.

Rossiter had an excellent run to the final, downing other club champions from Mt Kembla, Orb Figtree, Oak Flats and Towradgi.

Rossiter came up against former Australian Jackaroo Shane Garvey, representing Wiseman Park Wollongong in the final.

Rossiter led the match at 23-18 before Garvey staged a comeback, equalising the match 28-28. Garvey held his nerve to claim the last three shots and take out the title.

In the Champion of Champion Pairs discipline, the Kookaburras Pairs champions Mick Weir and Terry Boniface had a comfortable first round victory over Fairy Meadow, before bowing out in the last eight in a tough 29-22 defeat to Warilla's Brendan Aqualina and Jesse Noronha.

Kiama also held the annual BCIB Rotating Triples at the Nest on Saturday, where 32 teams from around the region competed in the popular one day event. 

After coming close to victory in last year’s event, Kiama Kookaburras Adam Rodgers, Kevin Pepper and Tony Piana were the winners of the 2018 event.

The Dapto Citos team of Terry Seton,Trevor and Grant Suckley finished second, while Berry's team of Peter Delamont, Russell Tulloch and David Badger finished third.