Defending champs bow out of club triples

Dean Aitken in action during his side's exciting quarter-final loss to Geoff McIntyre.
Dean Aitken in action during his side's exciting quarter-final loss to Geoff McIntyre.

Kiama's Club Triples continued last weekend with last years defending champions Des Gorham, John Heidtmann and Tony Van Zanen bowing out in the last eight.

Recently selected Illawarra representative Steve Wills skippered his side of Steve Winter and Adam Rodgers to a strong 30-8 victory over Van Zanen's troops. Scores were locked at 7-all at the half way point before Wills won the second half of the game 23-1 to reach the last four.

Last year’s runners up Geoff McIntyre, Danny Keenan and Craig Coleman will take on Team Wills in the last four after a hard fought 19-17 victory over Dieter Zimmerman, Gavin and Dean Aitken. Team Aitken fought back from 16-8 down to have the scores at 17-17 with two ends to play.

McIntyre held his nerve to win the last two ends to take out the quarter-final. While Mick Weir, Rod Logan and Russell Campbell were too good for Kevin Pepper's side, reaching the semi-final with a 32-6 victory.

In his debut for the club Tim Banfield skippered his side in a hard fought 19-14 win over Wayne Richardson in a round two match and will face an in-form Dave Kohlenberg's side in the last eight with the winner taking on Mick Weir in the semi-final. 

In other club news, Steve Wills, Dean Aitken and Mick Weir have been selected to represent Illawarra in the Phil Bushby Shield on Sunday.

It will be a representative debut for Wills in the side as all three bowlers look to impress for selection in the upcoming state series.

Club Triples will take a break this weekend due to zone events and will conclude on March 3 – 4.

Want more from the Kiama Independent? Try these: