Another pairs title for Boniface and Weir

It was pairs finals weekend at Kiama Bowling Club with major and minor events decided on Saturday and Sunday.

In the major pairs final Terry Boniface and Mick Weir won their third pairs title in six years with an emphatic 31 – 21 victory over first time finalists Neville Norris and Murray Sheather.

Norris/Sheather led in the early stages before Boniface/Weir scored seventeen shots in six ends, but Boniface/Weir held off the newcomer’s late charge to take out the title.

In the minor pairs final, new members Jacob Aitken and Dieter Zimmerman could not complete a comeback against first time finalists Rob Hill and Dave Kohlenberg.

Hill/Kohlenberg led from start to finish to win their maiden club title 23 – 21. Playing in his first competition, 10-year-old Jacob Aitken was the surprise packet, making the final on his first try with fellow new face Dieter. 

The experience of Hill/Kohlenberg proved too much on the day, however, Kiama's newest junior member’s fantastic effort did not go unnoticed.

This week, the Kiama Kookaburras will compete in the NSW five-a-side competition at Warilla Bowling Club.

Russell Campbell, Dean Aitken, Geoff McIntyre, Kevin Pepper and Mick Weir will face-off against the state’s best players in a four day tournament.

The Kookaburras will also play an exhibition match against the Men’s Australian Commonwealth Games team, which will be an exciting match for Kiama Bowling Club.

Over the next month, eleven pairs combinations will take part in the Illawarra Zone Pairs Championships in the opens, seniors and reserve divisions.

Newly crowned club champions Mick Weir and Terry Boniface will take on the Dapto Citz pairing of John Ferguson and Brian Harriot, while in the opens Brad Rossiter and Tom Hodgson will take on NSW representatives Matt Miles and Jesse Noronha. 

Want more from the Kiama Independent? Try these: