Group 7 products Steeled for big season on the field

Milton-Ulladulla's Tarje Whitford. Photo: DAVID HALL
Milton-Ulladulla's Tarje Whitford. Photo: DAVID HALL

TWELVE of the top 12 junior men’s players in Group 7 have been rewarded with selection in their respective Illawarra Steelers Harold Matthews and SG Ball sides for the 2018 season.

In the Harold Matthews squad, coached by Ben Linde, Group 7 will be represented by Albion Park-Oak Flats trio Joshua Coric, Harley Nizza and Cooper Tunbridge, Milton-Ulladulla’s Riley Wooden, Berry-Shoalhaven Heads’ Louie Chilver and Stingrays of Shellharbour’s Trey Barlow.

While the Steelers SG Ball side, coached by Group 7’s Jono Dallas (Jamberoo) and Matt O’Brien (Kiama), will include Group 7 products Blake Dowel, Sam Hooper (both Warilla-Lake South), Oscar Fitzpatrick, Tarje Whitford (both Milton-Ulladulla), Jack Walsh (Albion Park-Oak Flats) and Kuyan Wellington (Nowra-Bomaderry/Gerringong).

Not to be outdone, the Illawarra Steelers have also named their train-on squad for the Tarsha Gale (under 18s) women’s competition.

It includes Group 7 products Rhiannon Brown (Bomaderry), Bronte Girdler (Stingrays), Dakotah Mannering (Bomaderry) and Abbey Montgomery (Milton-Ulladulla).

All three teams will kick-off their seasons on Saturday, February 10.

The SG Ball side’s match against Western Suburbs Magpies will act as a curtain-raiser for the Wigan vs Hull match at WIN Stadium – with kick-off at 5.30pm.

While both the Tarsha Gale and the Harold Matthews sides will play Ron Costello Oval – with the Tarsha Gale women playing at 10am against Parramatta and the Harold Matthews men playing against Western Suburbs from 11.30am.

Steelers 2018 Harold Matthews squad: Talatau Amone (Wests), Trey Barlow (Stingrays), Fletcher Blackett (Leeton), Toby Boothroyd (Thirroul), Clive Brett (Collegians), Drever Burdis (Collegians), Louise Chilver (Berry-Shoalhaven Heads), Joshua Coric (Albion Park-Oak Flats), Joshua Goodchild (Collegians), Trent Griffiths (Thirroul), Jordan Karakousis (Corrimal), Banjamin Lavender (Collegians), Declan Manago (Corrimal), Brandon Morkos (Collegians), Harley Nizza (Albion Park-Oak Flats), Jack Owens (Dapto), Tyrone Roberts (Dapto), Jackson Shereb-Schmidt (Mudgee), Tyrell Sloan (Dapto), Jhet Steyger (Collegians), Tearana Temaari (Wests), Cooper Tunbridge (Albion Park-Oak Flats), Phoenix Vetenibua-Finnerty (Wests) and Riley Wooden (Milton-Ulladulla).

Steelers 2018 SG Ball squad:  Bailey Antrobus (Wests), Kane Ball (Wests), Jalal Bazzaz (Wests), Joe Dickson (Wests), Blake Dowel (Warilla-Lake South), Matt Feagai (Wests), Max Feagai (Wests), Oscar Fitzpatrick (Milton-Ulladulla), Ben Fulton (Thirroul), Tyrone Harding (Wests), Zach Herring (Collegians), Sam Hooper (Warilla-Lake South), Dylan Lucas (Wests), Connor Mulheisen (Thirroul), Matt Nicholson (Dragons), Shalom O’Fou (Berkeley), Sean Payne (Collegians), Aaron Schoupp (Thirroul), Hudson Spicer (Orange CYMS), Jayden Sullivan (Wests), Jack Walsh  (Albion Park-Oak Flats), Kuyan Wellington (Nowra-Bomaderry/Gerringong) and Tarje Whitford (Milton-Ulladulla).

Steelers 2018 Tarsha Gale train-on squad: Eleni Amone (Berkeley), Emily Andrews (Helensburgh), Abby Banfield (Corrimal), Victoria Barham (Berkeley), Lilly-Rose Bennett (Batemans Bay), Rhiannon Brown (Bomaderry), Hannah Byron (Corrimal), Keeley Davis (Corrimal), Hannah England (Batemans Bay), Bronte Girdler (Stingrays), Brittany Heron (Batemans Bay), Colby Heron (Batemans Bay), Abby Holmes (Corrimal), Leanne Jackson (Corrimal), Mikayla Kidd (Berkeley), Dakotah Mannering (Bomaderry), Abbey Montgomery (Milton-Ulladulla), Taneisha Roberts (Batemans Bay), Michaela Scutts (Helensburgh), Shannon Scutts (Helenburgh), Briearn Skeates (Windang), Maddison Weatherall (Berkeley) and Chloe Wood (Helensburgh).