Illawarra South Pacific Lawn Bowls Carnival Kiama games results

Kiama Bowling Club recently staged 20 sections of the annual Illawarra South Pacific Lawn Bowls Carnival.

Kiama had several entries in Fours, Pairs and Singles. In the singles, Zone development squad member Steve Wills went through his section before going down 25 – 21 to state and Australian representative Jesse Noronha.

Kiama Player of the Year Geoff McIntyre and new Kiama member Gary Melleuish also won through their sections and met in the last 32.

McIntyre showed his class with a 25 – 13 win over Gary before losing to Australian Jackaroo squad member Aaron Teys 25 – 13.

All six Kiama sides were successful in their sections, making it through to the last 32.

Adam Rodgers/Steve Wills defeated Kiama new recruit Gavin Aitken and his father before bowing out to new Warilla ace Brendan Aqualina 9 – 8 in a tight tussle.

Brad Rossiter/Dean Aitken were also unlucky to go out in a 14 – 11 defeat to eventual runner-up Shane Garvey.

Andrew Stewart and Terry Boniface teamed up to defeat club mates John Heidtmann/Pepper in the second round. Unfortunately they too suffered defeat in the final 16 with a 12 – 10 loss to an ADF side. 

The 2018 Kiama Bowling Club club championship season has began with the Men's Major Pairs.

Last year’s champions Danny Keenan/ Geoff McIntyre sent out a statement making it through to the quarter finals with strong wins over Ken Bratby and Steve Wills. They will face new recruits Gavin and Dean Aitken in the last eight which promises to be a great matchup.

Gary Melleuish and Chris Spaul also impressed with victories over Mick Ganderton and Andrew Stewart.

The 2016 champions Iain Baird/Martin Wilson will face former champions Terry Boniface/Mick Weir in a mouth watering round two clash with the winner facing off against the in-form Brad Rossiter/Bill Toulmin.

Also in the last eight, Russell Campbell/Brian Vickers will take on Kevin Pepper/Craig Coleman and Gary Melleuish/Chris Spaul take on Murray Sheather/Neville Norris.

The minor pairs has also started with Dave Kohlenberg/Rob Hill defeating Dave Brown/Rob Dylan in an early round matchup.

Want more from the Kiama Independent? Try these: