South Coast surfers selected for 2018 championship tour

Tyler Wright. Photo: Peter Rae

Tyler Wright. Photo: Peter Rae

THE 2017 World Surf League (WSL) Championship Tour (CT) season has come to a close, with Hawaii’s John John Florence  and Culburra Beach’s Tyler Wright both defending their respective maiden world surfing crowns to become two-time WSL champions.

The 2018 elite men’s Championship Tour (CT) will be contested by the WSL Top 34, which includes Culburra Beach’s Owen Wright – made up of the top 22 finishers on the 2017 CT season, the top 10 finishers on the 2017 Qualifying Series (QS) and two WSL wildcards.

2017 Top 22 CT: John John Florence (HAW), Gabriel Medina (BRA), Julian Wilson (AUS), Jordy Smith (ZAF), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Owen Wright (AUS), Kolohe Andino (USA), Adriano de Souza (BRA), Joel Parkinson (AUS), Filipe Toledo (BRA), Sebastian Zietz (HAW), Mick Fanning (AUS), Connor O’Leary (AUS), Frederico Morais (PRT), Jeremy Flores (FRA), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Kanoa Igarashi (USA), Caio Ibelli (BRA), Michel Bourez (PYF), Conner Coffin (USA), Joan Duru (FRA) and Italo Ferreira (BRA).

2017 top 10 QS (minus double qualifiers from CT): Griffin Colapinto (USA), Jesse Mendes (BRA), Wade Carmichael (AUS), Tomas Hermes (BRA), Yago Dora (BRA), Willian Cardoso (BRA), Keanu Asing (HAW), Ezekiel Lau (HAW), Michael Rodrigues (BRA) and Patrick Gudauskas (USA).

WSL wildcards: Kelly Slater (USA) and Ian Gouveia (BRA)

CT men’s replacement surfers: Michael February (ZAF), Bede Durbidge (AUS), Miguel Pupo (BRA) and Wiggolly Dantas (BRA).

The 2018 elite women’s Championship Tour (CT) will be contested by the WSL Top 17, which includes Culburra Beach’s Tyler Wright and Gerroa’s Sally Fitzgibbons – comprised of the top 10 finishers on the 2017 CT, the top six finishers on the 2017 QS and the WSL wildcard.

2017 Top 10 CT: Tyler Wright (AUS), Stephanie Gilmore (AUS), Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS), Courtney Conlogue (USA), Carissa Moore (HAW), Lakey Peterson (USA), Nikki Van Dijk (AUS), Sage Erickson (USA), Johanne Defay (FRA) and Tatiana Weston-Webb (HAW).

2017 top six QS (minus double qualifiers from the CT): Silvana Lima (BRA), Bronte Macaulay (AUS), Coco Ho (HAW), Caroline Marks (USA), Keely Andrew (AUS) and Paige Hareb (NZL).

WSL wildcard: Malia Manuel (HAW)

CT women’s replacement surfers: Macy Callaghan (AUS), Pauline Ado (FRA), Dimity Stoyle (AUS) and Bianca Buitendag (ZAF).

The 2018 WSL Championship Tour season will commence with the Quiksilver and Roxy Pro Gold Coast from March 11-22, 2018.