Kiama Bowling Club hosts inaugural President's Open

The Kiama Bowling Club held the inaugural President’s Open tournament over the weekend, where more than 160 bowlers battled it out over two days for more than $5,500 in prize money.

The tournament drew some huge names in the sport including current women’s world champion Karen Murphy, Scottish international Kay Moran and 2016 Illawarra singles champion Greg Jeans.

The fours section was held on Saturday with Greg Jeans and his team from Cabramatta taking the prize money with three wins plus 59. They held off Karen Murphy's side which included Kiama President Martin Wilson who were runners up. Kiama bowler Murray Sheather's team finished in third.

Sunday saw the pairs competition played out. Top Kiama skip Steve Wills and partner Terry Boniface won the day with three wins plus 40.

Runners up were Warilla zone senior champions Paul Collins and Geoff McGilvray who were four shots behind Wills. Composite side Scott Bateup and Luke West held on the third. 

In other club news, the beginning of daylight savings brought the start of the popular Barefoot Fridays.

Barefoot starts at 5pm every Friday and is for all ages. It costs $15 for bowls hire, unlimited green time, a sausage sizzle, plus free soft drink for the kids, games and prizes.

Want more from the Kiama Independent? Try these:

Surf Clubs set for annual open day on October 15

Liam Mackrell shines in first cricket clash of summer