Kiama takes title for the fifth time

KIAMA Junior AFL Club has won the prestigious Illawarra Junior AFL Club Championship for 2012.

The award, which was presented at the regional awards night in Dapto last week, goes to the club with the highest total score for all competitive grades during the home and away season.

The Power (45) won the title from the Northern Tigers (41), Figtree Kangaroos (31), Shellharbour Swans (29), Wollongong Lions (9), Albion Park, Highland Hawks and Dapto.

This is the fifth time (2000, 2002, 2003, 2004, and 2012) that the Kiama JAFL Club has won the championship.

"All of our competitive based teams made the finals this year, from our under-12s, under-14s, 16s, 18s, and the 18s youth girls, helping contribute to our win," Kiama president Simon Williams said.

"In every way we had a successful season, with a number of players making state teams, including Harry Dobson, who played for the ACT/NSW Rams, five Youth Girls who played for ACT/NSW, added to the under-16 boys and under-18 girls who won premierships."

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide